In his will of 21 February 1383, Amadeus VI ordered the foundation
of the Pierre-Châtel Charterhouse, which was to become the first church of the Supreme Order of the Most Holy Annunciation and
building work began just ten years later, under Countess Bona of Bourbon, then Regent of Savoy. Fifteen Carthusian brothers who administered the church together with fifteen chaplains had
to celebrate fifteen Holy Masses for the souls of the founder and members of the Order.
The Pierre-Châtel Charterhouse belonged to the Carthusian
Order between 1383 and 1791. Photo's are the Charterhouse as it looked in 1963.